Current Lab Members

Nicholas Bragagnolo, BSc, MSc

PhD Candidate

Nick’s research focuses on the multi-functional protein TraG of the F plasmid T4SS. TraG is involved in pilus formation, entry exclusion and mating pair stabilization. Nick is, at the moment, focusing on the structure and dynamics of the periplasmic domain of TraG.  In his spare time, Nick is a jazz drummer, and quite a good one we hear!

Christina Rodriguez, BSc

PhD Candidate

Christina joined the group in 2018 from Wilfrid Laurier University. Her research is focused on a elaborating the structural characteristics of the periplasmic pore forming proteins TraW and TrbC of the F plasmid T4SS.

Rana Salem, BSc, MASc

PhD Candidate

Rana joined the group in 2017 for a project in collaboration with Prof. Ahmed El-Dyasti in the Lassonde School of Engineering. Her research is focuses on identifying proteins involved polyhydroxyalkonate (PHA) and polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) production in methanotrophic bacteria fond in waste water. Finishing her MSc in Summer 2020, Rana is continuing her studies in our group. She continues to explore protein-structure functions of proteins for methanotrophic bacteria as well as exploring mobile genetic elements found in bacteria isolated from water treatment facilities.

Arnold Apostol, BSc

MSc Candidate

Arnold joined the group in September 2021 following his honours thesis in 2020-21.  Arnold’s MSc research focuses on the structural characterization of the TrbB and it’s protein-protein interactions, which is important in F plasmid T4SS formation.  Congratulations to Arnold, who defended is MSc thesis in December 2024.

Sahil Bajwa

  • Sahil joined the group as a YSSA student in 2021. He is currently working on his Biology 4000 Thesis Project – Structural and Oligomerization Studies of Type IV Pilins from Pseudomonas aeruginosa.

Maya Soko

  • Maya joined the group in 2023 and is curretnly working on her Biochemistry 4000 Thesis Project – Structural Studies of the type IV pilin cbu0156 from Coxiella burnetii.